To Award Scholarships to Meritorious National and International Students

About Symbiosis

Founder & President Padma Bhushan Dr. S.B. Mujumdar

Inspired by the ideals of 'Vishwa Bharati' of Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore and 'Antar Bharati' of Sane Guruji and with a deep desire to help foreign students, an idea of 'Symbiosis' was conceived by Dr. S.B. Mujumdar in the year 1971. The motto of Symbiosis is 'Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam' and truly for the foreign students at Pune it is a 'Home away from Home'.

Symbiosis today comprises 43 institutes imparting training in diverse disciplines. It has students who hail from all states of India and 75 different countries. Symbiosis is known to be a multicultural, multi lingual and multinational institution. An institution, where academic democracy prevails. Where law is the religion and freedom of thought and expression is the spirit. Where equality is not preached but practiced. Where Innovation, Passion and Compassion is nurtured.

Born in a small town Gadhinglaj, near Pune, he obtained a first class first in M.Sc. (Botany) and a Doctorate in Microbiology. He was the Head of the Department of Botany, Fergusson College, Pune for 20 years. He has written many standard books and published several papers in national and international journals. He was also a member of the Executive Council of the Pune University for 9 years.

Dr. S.B. Mujumdar, the Founder of Symbiosis International University, worked during his lifetime in order to bring social justice, international understanding and scientific approaches to the problem of the society. Higher education has played a crucial role in his life. His innovative ways of on education and proactive programmes for changing economy has made Symbiosis known for its brand of education.

As a distinguished academician and educationist, Dr. S.B. Mujumdar's vision has blossomed into a large educational complex from his caring and concern for international students at Pune. His long illustrious career was recognized by the President of India with the prestigious awards 'Padma Shri' in 2005 and 'Padma Bhushan' in 2012